An update to Uber’s privacy settings makes it easier for users to delete their accounts, the company said in a blog post Friday.

Until this update, users had to go to Uber’s support page, login, and submit a short form. Now, they can do it from inside the app.

In January, the #DeleteUber hashtag trended after riders criticized the ridesharing company for not strongly opposing President Donald Trump’s immigration ban, leading to the loss of about 200,000 customers. Uber said the new function predates that.

“We started building the foundation for these settings more than a year ago to ensure it could support not only these initial controls, but future ones as well,” Uber said in a statement.

Users will find the option under the new privacy menu item, which will also house settings for location and notifications. Users will be able to decide if they want to share their location with Uber, as well as control notifications from the app.

Uber will be rolling out the update in the next few weeks.

 

~source

Advertisements